Time up!

Image

From the moment I stepped in, a sense of thrill, a chill crept up my spine. From that day on, till today, my life has been surreal. Unfortunately though, everything has to have an end. And sadly, my adventure comes to a halt here. My time in NED University is up.

No longer do I have to wake up early. Hell! I had to get up even when the sun didn’t. It used to be the most annoying, the most irritating thing to do. And then the hurrying up! I still don’t know how I managed to catch my point each and every time. Even the conductor got tired of me chasing the bus around like crazy. It was madness. And to top it off, the bus ride wasn’t a stroll in the park either. A grueling hour of standing on my toes, covered in sweat – which mind you wasn’t mine to start off with. It would be a lucky day, if I got off feeling both my limbs. Insane! I think I miss that now.

Our first stop would be the Mech Corner; always the Mech Corner.  Nowhere else. For the past 4 years – except for during the times we were ragged (and not to mention those times during which we ragged), this was our spot. The Mech Corner. Here we relaxed and worked up our numb body parts. It was our little Mandir, our very own Church. All the pre-class rituals we performed there became necessary. Had someday we disregarded these rituals, the day went awful. Literally awful. Surprise tests, extra classes; you name it. All hell used to break lose then. I wonder where our next Mech Corner would be!

Then the classes. People started calling me sleepy-head after a couple of years. I wonder why did they call me that. I mean other than the fact that I usually didn’t note down the lectures, only occasionally listened to what our great lecturers had to blabber or the usual resting my eyes every now and then, I was THE ideal student. Sad everyone didn’t think that way.

Funny how the most modest of things get affixed in your memory, and how easily we forget all the prominent ones. “Boys! IT scene on hai”, some of us used to call out. Now everyone usually agreed. And everything seemed to be in place for a full fun filled bunk. But every single time! Every bloody single time someone just had to ruffle the feathers. God! I’m going to miss those times.

Then of course came the workbooks, the quizzes and the assignments. I always swore to be ready before time. Fate, though, had something else planned. The classes usually became a bilateral thingy. One eye on the lecturer and the other on the notes/assignments. It’s a talent we mastered. And probably the only thing in which we involved engineering – Less time, more topics covered (time economy). I’m still amazed at what we were able to achieve in such little time. Someone go check the world record on this. Because I’m sure we’d beat it eyes closed.

The toughest time of the day was the lunch break. We made some tough decisions during those times. Tremors of which are still felt. Which canteen to go to, what to eat and how much to eat; these certainly were questions that provided for some sleepless times (in the classroom of course). In the end, we’re glad that we made the right calls at the right time. (*Shudders)

The dog fight for a seat in the point usually signaled the end of the day. It was the time when brothers forgot brothers, friends became foes. Everyone used to have a rage in their eyes. They could kill for a seat. It’s said that the next world war will be on water. Well Mr Water! I say watch out. A Point seat is just as important.

To say that these past 4 years have been a roller coaster of a ride would be an understatement. Looking back at the time spent, it’s been one hell of a treat. And I, sure as anything, would love to relive those years all over again.

2 thoughts on “Time up!

Leave a comment